What is SHAC? 

School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) is a group appointed by the school district to serve at the district level. Members of the SHAC come from different areas of the community and from within the school district. The majority of members must be parents who are not employed by the district. Texas law (Texas Education Code, Title 2, Subtitle F, Chapter 28, Subchapter A, §28.004) requires the establishment of a SHAC for every school district.  SHACs are required to meet at least four times each year. 

SHACs assist the districts in ensuring that local community values are reflected in health education instruction. Additionally, SHACs can help districts meet performance goals and alleviate financial constraints. SHACs play an important role in strengthening the connection between health and learning. They can help parents and community stakeholders reinforce the knowledge and skills children need to stay healthy for a lifetime.  

2021-2022 Meeting Dates:

September 23, 2021 at 8:00am Click here to view

Meeting agenda and Minutes

2016-2017 2017-2018 2018-2019 2019-2020


Meet the SHAC Committee

  • Committee Chairs:
    • Al Hemmle
    • Nikki Nix
  • Parent Representatives: 
    • Delbert Daniels
    • Tanya Rizo
    • Thomas Garrett
    • Shelley Sims
    • Beth Ward
    • Megan Dickson
    • Michelle Spradley
    • Ashlee Rollins
    • Tami Tobey
    • Amy Cohen
    • Bev Barrier
    • Kamakshi Raol
    • Jessica Hartin
    • Andra Mercado
    • Leah Vasquez
    • Tanya Henry
    • Joy Parker
    • Brian Woods
    • Lupita Melendez
  • Food Service Representative: 
    • Peter Pajak
  • Nursing Staff:
    • Jessica Martin
    • Lauren Williams
    • Wendy Hein
    • Joanne Sullivan
    • Rachel Bryant
    • Paula Williams
    • Joanna Stinchcomb
    • Katy Watts
    • Amanda Berry
    • Brenda Jenkins
    • Jill Bryant
    • Judi Fiorenza
  • Student Representatives:
    • Harper Stark
    • Drew Dickson
    • Sloan Short
  • Community Representatives:  
    • Bruce Prindle
    • Tasha Taylor
    • Daron Ehly
    • Christopher Envani